Master’s Degree






The Master of Social Work (MSW) Programme shall be of two years duration. The programme shall be spread over four semesters. The degree of Master of Social Work is equivalent to a professional Post-Graduate degree in Social Work. The MSW programme is aimed to equip students to work as agents of change from grassroots up to policy levels. It is a recognized qualification for professional positions in governmental, industrial and voluntary sector organizations. This degree equips a student with knowledge, skills and aptitude required to work as Human Resource personnel, Social Welfare Officers, Probation Officers, professionals in the Social Development sector, Rural and Tribal Welfare and Development, Rural and Urban Community Development, organizations for women’s development and empowerment, Counsellors in Family Courts, Correctional Institutions, Youth Development agencies, Geriatric Centres, Medical and Psychiatric Social Workers in Hospitals, officials in Social Defense, Social Work Research, functionaries under the Juvenile Justice System, child rights organizations, ICDS Supervisors, CDPO’s and similar other positions. Post-Graduate degree holders in Social Work are qualified to hold responsible positions in International Organizations like UNO, UNICEF, ILO, and WHO and as Social Work Educators in Universities and Colleges of Social Work.


Graduates of any University recognized by the Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur are eligible to be admitted to the MSW degree programme.

Medium of Instruction:

The medium of Instruction shall be English. However, the Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur permits students to write examinations in either English or Marathi or Hindi.

Course Structure:

The following shall be the structure of theory classes, field work practicum and dissertation in the semester pattern for the Master of Social Work (MSW) course, to be introduced from the academic session 2016-2017. Third and Fourth semester are based on Specialization offered. The College offers Four Specialization

  1. Family and Child Studies
  2. Rural, Urban and Tribal Community Development
  3. Medical and Psychiatric Social Work
  4. Human Resource Management 

Intake Capacity: 60